109 Members of Congress Call for Sikh Hate Crime Tracking

Washington, DC: One hundred and nine members of the U.S. House of Representatives issued a new letter today calling on the FBI to begin tracking hate crimes against Sikhs, Hindus, and Arab-Americans, the way it does for other communities. The FBI is scheduled to make a decision about this issue in June.

According to Sikh Coalition community surveys in New York and California, Sikhs may be hundreds of times more likely than their fellow Americans to experience hate crimes because of their religion. We believe that accurately tracking these crimes will strengthen diagnostic and deterrence efforts and help law enforcement officials proactively address these challenges.

The Sikh Coalition initiated this project over two years ago and is grateful to its supporters for signing petition letters and making phone calls to Congressional offices to advance this important campaign. We are also grateful to New York Congressman Joseph Crowley and his colleagues in the U.S. Congress for their leadership in the cause of accurately documenting and ending hate crimes against our communities.

List of Signatories

Raul Grijalva (AZ)
Karen Bass (CA)
Ami Bera (CA)
Julia Brownley (CA)
Lois Capps (CA)
Tony Cardenas (CA)
Judy Chu (CA)
Jim Costa (CA)
Anna Eshoo (CA)
Sam Farr (CA)
John Garamendi (CA)
Janice Hahn (CA)
Mike Honda (CA)
Barbara Lee (CA)
Zoe Lofgren (CA)
Alan Lowenthal (CA)
Doris Matsui (CA)
Jerry McNerney (CA)
George Miller (CA)
Grace Napolitano (CA)
Gloria Negrete McLeod (CA)
Loretta Sanchez (CA)
Linda Sanchez (CA)
Adam Schiff (CA)
Brad Sherman (CA)
Jackie Speier (CA)
Eric Swalwell (CA)
Mark Takano (CA)
Juan Vargas (CA)
Henry Waxman (CA)
Jared Polis (CO)
Rosa DeLauro (CT)
Eleanor Norton (DC)
Ted Deutsch (FL)
Alcee Hastings (FL)
Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL)
Frederica Wilson (FL)
Hank Johnson (GA)
John Lewis (GA)
Madeleine Bordallo (Guam)
Tulsi Gabbard (HI)
Tammy Duckworth (IL)
Luis Gutierrez (IL)
Bobby Rush (IL)
Jan Schakowsky (IL)
Andre Carson (IN)
Michael Capuano (MA)
Joe Kennedy (MA)
Steven Lynch (MA)
Ed Markey (MA)
James McGovern (MA)
Richard Neal (MA)
John Tierney (MA)
Niki Tsongas (MA)
Elijah Cummings (MD)
Donna Edwards (MD)
John Sarbanes (MD)
Chris Van Hollen (MD)
Chellie Pingree (ME)
John Conyers (MI)
John Dingell (MI)
Dan Kildee (MI)
Sander Levin (MI)
Gary Peters (MI)
Charles Rangel (MI)
Bennie Thompson (MI)
Keith Ellison (MN)
Betty McCollum (MN)
William Lacy Clay (MO)
Gregorio Sablan (N. Mariana Islands)
David Price (NC)
Robert Andrews (NJ)
Rush Holt (NJ)
Bill Pascrell (NJ)
Albio Sires (NJ)
Ben Lujan (NM)
Dina Titus (NV)
Joseph Crowley (NY)
Eliot Engel (NY)
Steve Israel (NY)
Carolyn Maloney (NY)
Carolyn McCarthy (NY)
Gregory Meeks (NY)
Grace Meng (NY)
Jerrold Nadler (NY)
Jose Serrano (NY)
Louise Slaughter (NY)
Paul Tonko (NY)
Earl Blumenauer (OR)
Peter DeFazio (OR)
Pedro Pierluisi (PR)
David Cicilline (RI)
Eni Faleomavaega (Samoa)
Steve Cohen (TN)
Joaquin Castro (TX)
Lloyd Doggett (TX)
Al Green (TX)
Ruben Hinojosa (TX)
Sheila Jackson-Lee (TX)
Gerry Connolly (VA)
James Moran (VA)
Robert Scott (VA)
Peter Welch (VT)
Suzan DelBene (WA)
Jim McDermott (WA)
Adam Smith (WA)
Ron Kind (WI)
Gwen Moore (WI)
Mark Pocan (WI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.