Sikhs are politically aware, says Manjit Singh GK

New Delhi: The Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee (DSGMC) president, Manjit Sigh GK, said that victory of nine Sikh MLAs in the assembly election suggested that Sikh community is politically aware.

Of the nine Sikh MLAs, two are sitting members of the DSGMC, one sitting councillor, two of the Congress, one BJP and three contested on the tickets of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

Manjinder Singh Sirsa, general-secretary in the DSGMC, won the Rajouri Garden seat with comfortable margin. Harmit Singh Kalka, who won the Kalkaji seat, was also member of the DSGMC. He defeated Congress stalwart Subhash Chopra. The third one is Jatinder Singh Shanty, sitting councillor of SAD-BJP alliance who defeated senior Congress candidate Narendra Nath, former chairman of the Trans-Yamuna Development Board, from Shahdra.

The BJP has given ticket to single Sikh candidate R.P. Single from Rajinder Nagar. He appeared victorious defeating former Transport Minister Ramakant Goswami.

Two Sikhs – Arvinder Singh Lovely, former Revenue Minister and Parlad Singh Sawhnay – won the election as Congress candidates from Gandhi Nagar and Chandni Chowk constituencies, respectively.

And three others are Jarnail Singh, Jagdeep Singh, Manindar Singh Dheer of AAP candidates who won the election from Tilak Nagar, Hari Nagar and Jangpura, respectively.

Manjit said that in the history of Delhi first time such a large number of Sikh MLAs have won the assembly elections. In the previous elections, only five Sikh MLAs had won the seats. Of them only two – Parlad Singh and Lovely – have retained their seats.

Source: The Tribune

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.